Portraits in Provincetown: Volume 1

Hello! I’ve begun a new photo series that I’m calling Portraits in Provincetown. For some time now, I’ve been enamored by Richard Avedon’s In The American West series. While there is certainly much to discuss about that particular photo series, I keep finding myself drawn to the aesthetic design of those photos and have wanted to do something similar with my own photography.

 

As I’ll be spending the next two and half months in Provincetown, I thought I would engage in a portrait series that would not only act as an homage to Avedon’s career defining series, but also as a way to become known throughout the community here.

 

I choose to photograph volunteers to stand in front of the Storm Shingles that help define Provincetown and take their portrait. I’m not interested in directing each person on how to pose, so the images you see are as honest of a representation of how these people as you’re going to see.

 

Enjoy!

 

Emil

Leave a Reply

